IEBC Commissioners Education Backgrounds, Experience And Qualifications

As the presidential voter tallying gathers steam, all eyes are set on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati. Other most visible individuals in this high stake exercise are commissioners.

In this article, WoK takes a look at the seven commissioners’ qualifications, experience and education background.

Wafula Chebukati

He serves as the Chairman of the Commission. He attended the University of Nairobi where he graduated with a Law Degree and later on the Kenya School of Law (KSL) for a Post Graduate Diploma in Law. He earned a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT). He has over 36 years of expertise in the legal field and serves as the President of the Association of African Election Authorities’ General Assembly. He is a member of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK), Institute of Certified Secretaries (ICS) and International Commission of Jurists (ICJ)-Kenya.

Juliana Cherera

He serves as the Vice Chairman of the Commission. She attended Kenyatta University where she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Education. She earned a Master of Education, Leadership and Educational Management from Kenya Methodist University (KEMU). Juliana holds an Early Childhood Development Education (ECDE) certification from KNEC and studied project management at the Kenya Institute of Management (KIM). She has attended different programs including Senior Management Course (SMC) and Strategic Leadership and Development Program at Kenya School of Governance (KSG). She has over 18 years of experience in Education and Management in the Public sector.

Francis Wanderi

He chairs the commission’s Finance and Supply Chain Management Committee. Wanderi attended the University of Nairobi where he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Education. He earned a Master of Science in Management (MSc. Mgmt.) from Arthur D. Little Management Institute at Boston, USA. He has trained in Transformative Leadership and Management and Change Management and Corporate Governance Course by Commonwealth Association for Corporate Governance. He is the former Chairperson of EPZ and director of Roots Credit limited. Wanderi has over 32 years of experience in senior management within public and private sectors.

Justus Nyang’aya

Justus Nyang’aya chairs the commission’s Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) Committee. He holds a Diploma in Leadership, Governance, Peace and Conflict Transformation from the  United Nations’ University – International Leadership Academy in Jordan –AMMAN. He has a Master of Arts in Education from the Institute of Education, University of London in the United Kingdom (UK). He is the former Country Director of Amnesty International Kenya, director of Lead Africa and worked for the Netherlands Development Organization (UNESCO). He has over 32 years of expertise in Strategic Leadership, Governance and Social Accountability.

Irene Masit

At the Commission, Irene Masit chairs the Legal, Compliance and Political Party Liaison Committee and the Leadership and Integrity Committee. She attended the University of Nairobi where she graduated with a Law Degree and a Bachelor’s Degree in Social work. She proceeded to the Kenya School of Law where she acquired a Post Graduate Diploma in law. She has a Master’s Degree in Strategic Human Resource Management from the University of Manchester. She is a member of the International Certified Addiction Professional (ICAPI-Treatment; Colombo Plan Global Centre for Credentialing and Certification and member of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). She is the immediate former board member of the National Government Constituency Development Fund (NGCDF) and has over 25 years of experience in the public and private sectors.

Prof. Abdi Yakub Guliye

Prof. Abdi Yakub Guliye chairs the commission’s Election Operations, Research and Boundary Delimitation Committee. He attended Egerton University where he graduated with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Animal Production. He has a Master of Science in Animal Production and a PhD in Animal Nutrition from Rowett Research Institute at the University of Aberdeen in Scotland. He has in the past served in various institutional and organizational boards and chaired committees such as Audit and Risk Management and Finance. He boasts over 27 years of experience in university teaching as a lecturer.

Mr. Boya Molu

Mr. Boya Molu chairs the commission’s Human Resource, Administration and Training Committee. He holds a Higher National Diploma in Human Resource Management from KNEC at IHRM Kenya, a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Karnatak University in India and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) specializing in HR Management from Periyar University in India. He has in the past served in various capacities at the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) and the Judiciary in the Human Resource and Administration Directorate. He has also served in the past as a council member of the Institute of Human Resource Management (IHRM) Kenya. He brings on board 15 years of experience in Human Resource Management and administration mainly in the public sector.