Tuju Speaks of Panic in Cabinet after Court Declared CAS Position Illegal

Bank After kes1.4 Billion Loan From Raphael Tuju
Jubilee Secretary General Raphael Tuju Addressing The Media Photo/Courtesy

Jubilee Party Secretary General Raphael has dismissed claims that there is panic in Cabinet over the High Court’s decision to declare that some Cabinet Secretaries and Chief Administrative Secretaries are in office illegally.

On Tuesday, April 20, a High Court ruled that Cabinet Secretaries that served in President Kenyatta’s first administration, ought to have been vetted before re-appointment, adding that those who were not vetted are in office illegally.

The court also ruled that the position of Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) created by President Uhuru Kenyatta is illegal.

DON'T MISS: Stay informed with the latest news and interact with us on Instagram.

Reacting to the ruling during an interview on Tuesday night, Tuju noted that the Cabinet is not in any form of panic over the court’s directive.

He said President Kenyatta’s government followed the due process in creating the position of CAS, adding that they’ll review the court ruling and possibly file an appeal if they disagree with it.

“I can assure you that there is no panic in the Cabinet and I can assure you that there is no effect of this particular ruling until after 29th of May… If at all we are in disagreement with it, which I think we are, there is an appellate process,” he said.

As to whether the ruling affects his Cabinet position (Cabinet Secretary without portfolio), Tuju noted that he’ll be consulting with the Attorney General on the same.

“If it affects me I think the Attorney General will have to enlighten me on that, I have not looked into it,” he said.

Should the ruling taking effect, some of the Cabinet Secretaries that will be affected include; CS Amina Mohammed (Sports), Sicily Kariuki (Water), Raychelle Omamo (Foreign Affairs), Fred Matiang’i (Interior), Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution), Adan Mohammed (East African Community and Regional Development), Najib Balala (Tourism) and Joe Mucheru (ICT).

JOIN US: Stay informed with the latest Kenyan news and join the conversation on Telegram.

Facebook Comments

JOIN OUR COMMUNITY: Stay informed with the latest celebrity news on our WhatsApp community or by messaging the number +41774793952.