AFCON Allowances For Harambee Stars Players

AFCON Allowances For Harambee Stars Players
Harambee Stars Squad Photo/Courtesy

The African Cup of Nation 2019 being held in Cairo, Egypt started on a bad note for the Kenya national football team Harambee Stars after being outfoxed, outclassed and humiliated by the Algerian national team. It was by sheer luck the score line remained two to nothing at the end of the game. The next match will be against neighboring Tanzania who received an equivalent beating by Teranga Lions of Senegal and are keen on making amends by whitewashing Harambee Stars.

How much money was sunk into 2019 AFCON preparation?
A lot of money has gone into the AFCON preparation and Kenya expects nothing less than a good performance. Coach Sebastian Migne received all the support he needed ahead of the continental showdown and it did not come cheap. The Ministry of Sports allocated Football Kenya Federation kes219million for the AFCON campaign. The federation boss Nick Mwendwa said they will source winning bonuses from elsewhere. From the first game, FKF may end up not having to pay any winning bonuses.

Players Bonuses
Each of the 27 players who made it to Migne’s provisional squad pocketed $2,500 (Kes254,000). The squad that participated in the 18 day training camp in France was whittled down to the current 23 who are in Cairo. The players who made it to Cairo will be paid a further $5,000 (Ksh 509,250).

DON'T MISS: Stay informed with the latest news and interact with us on Instagram.

An excited Mwendwa said of the squad allowances:

“I want to set the record straight, when we left Kenya every player got 2,500 dollars (Ksh 254,625) and we promised Kenyans when the coach releases his final 23-man squad, we will pay 5,000 dollars (Ksh 509,250) and I can tell Kenyans again that on Friday, all players and the bench were paid all the money.”

Final Squad:

Patrick Matasi, John Oyemba, Faruk Shikalo


Philemon Otieno, Abud Omar, Bernard Ochieng, Musa Mohammed, Joash Onyango, Joseph Okumu, David Owino, Eric Ouma; Victor Wanyama, Dennis Odhiambo, Erick Johanna, Ayub Timbe, Francis Kahata, Ismael Gonzalez, Ovella Ochieng, Paul Were, Johanna Omollo

JOIN US: Stay informed with the latest Kenyan news and join the conversation on Telegram.


Masud Juma, Michael Olunga, John Avire. Next

Facebook Comments

JOIN OUR COMMUNITY: Stay informed with the latest celebrity news on our WhatsApp community or by messaging the number +41774793952.